Introduction to the Board of Management

St. Cuan’s College’s Board of Management manage the college on behalf of the college’s patron, the Catholic Bishop of Elphin, and the Minister for Education and Skills.

The roles and responsibilities of the Boards of Management all Catholic Voluntary Secondary Schools, including St. Cuan’s College, are clearly set out in the Articles of Management for Catholic Voluntary Secondary Schools 1998.   In addition, Sections 14 to 21 inclusive of the Education Act 1998, have set out in legislation these roles and responsibilities. The Articles of Management are available to staff and parents on request by contacting the school secretary.

Under the Education Act 1998 it is the duty of the Board to manage the school on behalf of the Patron (also known as Trustee) and for the benefit of the students and their parents and to provide or cause to be provided an appropriate education for each student at the school for which that Board has responsibility.

The Board must also uphold the characteristic spirit (ethos) of St. Cuan’s College and is accountable to the patron for so doing.

The principal, who is secretary to the Board, is responsible for the day-to-day management of the school, including providing guidance and direction to the teachers and other staff, and is accountable to the Board for that management.

There are eight members on the Board of Management: four nominees of the patron, two teachers who are nominees of the teaching staff and two parents who are nominees of the parents and guardians of current students.

The board sits for a period of three years and the current board came into being in October 2016 and will serve, God willing, until October 2019.  The current board  consists of the following members:

Elected Teacher Nominees
• Mr Seamus Meehan
• Ms Audrey Slevin

Elected Parent Nominees
• Mrs Carmel Murray
• Mr Tony Kenny

Nominees of the Catholic Bishop of Elphin
• Dr. Justin Harkin (Chairperson)
• Ms Mary Kelly
• Ms. Mary Mullarkey
• Very Rev. Raymond Sweeney PP

The Board of Management may be contacted through the school principal, Ms Collette Kennedy Walsh, or by writing to:

The Chairperson,
The Board of Management.
St. Cuan’s College,
Co. Galway.
H53 AN80.

Correspondence will be acknowledged following the Board of Management meeting that follows receipt of correspondence.

Currently the Board of Management meets monthly with the exception of the months of July and December.